Mind Control

Romans 12:2 “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Romans 12:2 not only instructs us to not copy or follow the world, but it further instructs us to to be transformed by renewing our minds.

Do you remember the first time you realized you could use your mind? I know that’s a rare question to ask. Everyone begin using their mind and are unaware they’re actually using it. Not everyone will say something like “Oh won’t you look at that! I’m thinking!”

When I was a little girl, I remembered one day I was in the living room with my mom. She was reading her book and I was reading mine. The difference however, was that I was reading out loud. So my mom suggested, “Why don’t you read in your mind?” I became really confused and I said “Read in my mind? How do I do that?” I don’t remember what her response was, maybe something like “Well, you just do it.” For how can you instruct a person on how to use their own mind? And a little girl at that? It’s not like there’s a instruction manual on how to think.

But that’s the beauty of it! The human mind is a remarkable gift from God. It’s that place where no one has access to but their self and God himself. That’s why you have fictional movies about someone being able to read someone else’s mind. Maybe at times we secretly wish we knew what someone was thinking. Maybe just maybe, they would be a little bit easier to understand. But luckily, that part of you is untouchable from everyone. I Corinthians 2:10-11 says “these are the things God has revealed to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the spirit of God.”

Satan cannot access your mind. Imagine what chaos would happen if Satan could literally place a thought in your mind! But thanks be to God, we are protected. Though the mind is untouchable to Satan, it is not unreachable. Satan can’t place a thought inside your mind but he can change the way you think. How does he do that? Well he uses whatever is in your way. That is why I will say this boldly, what you see and what you hear has a huge influence on the way you think.

This is not a dangerous world because of nuclear weapons or corrupt governments. This is a dangerous world because everything we see and everything we hear, affects us. Isn’t that a scientific fact? Doesn’t an organism depend greatly on its environment? If it is too hot for an animal that is not meant to survive in heat, will it not die? I asked these questions to say this, what you surround yourself with, matters. If you expose your mind to junk, it will eventually start thinking junk. Your mind will be what you allow it to be. Your mind needs protection and God knows this.

That is why we have the bible, specifically, that is why we have Romans 12:2. When you begin to feed your mind truth, your thinking will change. Transformation only comes in Christ. If you’ve always wanted to change, and no matter how much books you read on self improvement, you stay the same, it is not because you can’t! It’s because your looking to the world for answers! The world will never give you transformation. To be transformed is to know the only one who can give it to you, Jesus Christ.

This is where the Holy Spirit comes in, if I am to speak of transformation, I must speak of the Holy Spirit. For it is only when the spirit of God is within you that true transformation takes place. If you haven’t received the Holy Spirit, I encourage you to pray and ask God for his spirit to dwell within you. I will also pray for you, because the holy spirit is very important. Romans 8:14 says “For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.” John 3:5 says “Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the spirit he cannot enter the Kingdom of God.”

It is important to note also that Romans 12:2 uses the word “renewing”. The prefix “re” used in front of “new”, means again or repeated. This tells me that transformation does not happen once, but continuously. Therefore, you don’t read your bible once. You read your bible continuously, you make it a daily part of your life. That way, everyday you can be transformed, when you choose to renew you mind with God’s word. I encourage you to renew what God has given to you. Renew your mind by feeding it truth instead of junk. II Corinthians 4:16 says “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”

Think: In what ways have your thinking changed because of something that you saw or heard? Did it change negatively or positively? What will you change to renew your mind?

Pray: Jesus, I pray that you will help me to renew my mind daily. Help me to put your word into action by not seeing or listening to anything that is contrary to your word. I know how important my mind is and I pray you will protect it from evil. Give me the desire to do my part as you do yours. Thank you Jesus. In Jesus name I pray, amen.

If you do not have the holy spirit, pray this: Jesus I acknowledge that in order to change and be transformed, I need your spirit. Help me Jesus to receive your spirit which I need to lead me. In Jesus name I pray, amen.

Photo Credit: http://weheartit.com/entry/242892386/search?context_type=search&context_user=latinafashion&page=18&query=flower+girl+teen

Leave a comment