18 Things I’ve Learned at 18

It’s my 18th birthday and so I decided to create a list of 18 things I’ve learned at 18, so here we go:

1. My fulfillment is in Christ alone

My teenage years were filled with uncertainty about myself and my purpose. And so I looked to other people and other things to make me happy, but still I felt incomplete. Finally, with God’s Spirit, I began to feel joy that I didn’t get from other things or in other people, because I was created to let him fill the emptiness in me.

2. Boys are not the Answer

This is a big one for me, because for so long I thought boys would truly make me happy. Along the way, I have learned that before I fell in love with anyone else, I first had to fall in love with Jesus. 

I did, and it’s amazing.

3. Comparing Myself to People is not Okay

Comparison only creates discontentment, and I’ve learned that I only should compare myself to Christ, so that I can become more like him everyday. 

4. Praying Doesn’t Have to be Hard

I imagine prayer as simply talking to the one I love. I especially love the moments where I can talk to God with passion. There’s no making my prayers perfect, because Jesus knows exactly who I am. He’s taught me to simply speak with him, be real and to be open.

5. Eye Contact is Awkward, but Good

Too often I walk by strangers and intentionally place my eyes to left or to the right. I don’t think that’s okay, and as hard as it is for me, it’s absolutely important. How are we as God’s followers, to reach the world, if we can’t even look them in the eyes?

6. Don’t be Afraid to be Vulnerable

I don’t have it all together, none of us do and pretending to be perfect, is not effective if I want to make an impact in this world. I’ve learned to put aside my pride (as hard as it is), and really dig deep within my heart, to let people know that they’re not alone. I don’t want to be afraid of vulnerability on this blog, because in some ways, we all can relate to each other.

7. It’s Okay to not be Okay

There are days when I feel like I’m coping with all that’s changed, like moving completely away from all that’s familiar to me. But, there are days when it’s incredibly hard. I’ve learned that this new change is still new to me. And though it’s hard, I know I’m not alone, even when I feel like I am, because Jesus has never left my side, and I’m thankful, because I can’t do it on my own.

8. You Can’t Cry Over Spilled Milk

One day my mom said this quote and at first I was like “What’s that suppose to mean?” But eventually I realized the simple truth behind this weird statement. It’s basically saying that it doesn’t make sense you freak out over something you can’t change. The only thing you can do is clean up the milk if it spills, in other words, you can only move forward.

9. Saying Yes to God, Means Saying No to the World

As I grew in God this year, I’ve had to let many worldly things and influence out of my life. And for every practical decision, was a realization that I can’t let the fleshly pleasures of this world, distract me from God’s purpose for my life. 

“Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ” (‭‭Philippians‬ ‭3:8‬ ‭NLT‬‬)

10. The Desire to Please Others Shouldn’t Be My Goal

“Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.”

‭Galatians 1:10 is certainly helping me to overcome this struggle and is redirecting me to realize, that my ultimate goal should always be to please God and not those around me.

11. The Importantance of Commitment 

When things are going good, it’s easy to say Jesus I love you, but what about when things go bad? I’ve learned the importance of commitment: staying true to God even when things aren’t what you thought they would be. This is easier said than done, but during the good or the bad, Jesus always remain faithful to me, and commitment says that I choose to remain faithful to him, no matter my circumstances. 

12. There’s No Heart too Broken for Jesus 

Many times, we may not understand that our brokenness is what brings us closer to God. I have seen this in my life, and if it wasn’t for a painful experience, I wouldn’t have come to know how much I needed him.

I’ve learned that it’s through the pain, that we heal. 

“Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (‭‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭12:9-10‬ ‭NLT‬)

13. Forgive like Jesus Forgives

Our hearts should be full of love, not hatred, anger or bitterness. I’ve learned the importance of being grace filled, because I know I’m not perfect, and it’s not fair for me to expect perfection from other people. Just as God forgave me, I should always forgive others. 

14.  See Yourself as God Sees You

This world does not define you. I’ve learned to never feel insecure about myself, but seek truth about what God says about me and my potential. For every lie the devil whispers to my soul, I overcome with the powerful truth of God’s word, and it works every time. 

15. Love Others

As God’s followers we should be full of love for people. No matter who they are and what they do, we should never judge or condemn, but be full of compassion and kindness, because that’s the only way we will win lost souls. I’m a quiet and reserved individual, and so being a social butterfly is very new to me. But I believe, that if Icontinue to have love in my heart for people, God will show me practical ways I can draw others closer to him. 

16. God does Speak, just Be Willing to Listen

That tug on your heart? That deep feeling you just can’t ignore? I’ve had those and I know that’s God telling me to stay away from something or to do something. Many times I don’t understand, but I trust his will because I know his intentions are good.

17. Cherish Your Family

My family has grown closer to each other since we moved to America. I’ve learned to really cherish everyday I have with them. 

18. God’s Not Done Yet

So many times as Christians, we become “comfortable”. Instead of pressing even further in our relationship with God, we think that where we are in God is “ideal”. I’ve learned that this mentality will only hinder my walk with God. There’s no limitations to what God can do in my life. I never want to be “comfortable” with where I am in God, but I want to always go deeper and further, forgetting what God did yesterday because I know he will do even more tomorrow. 

“But forget all that— it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.” (‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭43:18‬ ‭NLT‬‬)

Thanks so much for reading! 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I am truly honored to be your Aunt . To watch you grow spiritually over the past year or so and to see how God has been using you as an Oracle for his glory. Mickeeva, may God continue to bless you as you continue to make yourself available to be used by him. God bless you. Love you much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keeva I am so proud of the woman that you have become. Continue to write and inspire others for the Lord.
    You are certainly correct “We should not be comfortable with where we are in our relationship with God”.
    We ought to strive each day to go higher in Him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment